Without capital punishment (the death penalty) our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase. Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an opinion that the death penalty is necessary to reduce violent crime rates and make our lives safer. In my opinion, I completely agree with this view because there are a variety of advantages to capital punishment. First, the most convincing argument is that fear of capital punishment stops people from committing offences. If a person imagines that there are few people standing around and pointing guns at their head, they will not dare to offend. When criminals are not given the death sentence, justice is not done to the victim and their family. This might lead to counter acts of violence with revenge. In the event of people being murdered for society is badly affected and the death penalty alone can salvage the situation. Besides, this violence alone can minimize so that people live. Second, the death penalty is the only way to punish the criminals who have done heinous crimes. Moreover, it will deter other similar acts in the future, since criminally oriented people will be scared of the outcome, which allows people to feel more secure. According to a recent study published in the leading television news channel, the rate of offences has dipped in Italy, post-implementation of the death penalty. However, supporters of the view that capital punishment will neither improve society's safety nor curb felonies, argue that those who want to commit crimes will continue. They argue that the death penalty shows that crime cannot be tolerated. After committing a crime, many people realize their mistake and want to start over, but we took their lives. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, though I accept the death sentence has some drawbacks, I believe that the positive effects it brings to society can outweigh the negative ones.