Advertisements have great influence in determining what we buy. Some people think that there should be laws to control advertising while others argue that companies should be free to advertise however they want. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Advertisements play a vital role in promoting a company's sales. However, it sometimes manipulates a consumer's behaviour excessively. While advertisements have both positive and negative aspects, I believe that their disadvantages outweigh the advantages. This essay will discuss its pros and cons and suggest reasons to support my opinion. Advertisements can benefit consumers because the Internet is full of ads, so they can shop at various shops and buy what they want. For example, when consumers cannot decide between an expensive product made by a famous brand versus a lesser-known company offering a cheaper substitute, they can immediately compare the two products' prices by seeing their advertisements. Thus, ads can increase consumers ' awareness of the presence of many companies, enabling them to decide which one suits their needs. However, advertisements may have negative impacts on a company. Corporations tend to make too exaggerated advertisements to attract more customers. For example, when a company promotes their diet equipment, they edit the photos of the models to make their bodies look skinnier and beautiful or make their muscles bigger. Consumers who see these misleading images will be convinced of the products' effectiveness and immediately make their purchase. However, the results of using them vary from person to person, so they might not meet the consumers ' expectations. If this happens, the company will lose its consumers ' trust and loyal customers and make smaller future profits. In conclusion, while ads benefit customers, I believe more people should be aware of the risks of being manipulated and wasting money on unnecessary products due to companies' misleading advertisements.