There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days demand and supply of housing in cities does not meet, which leads to several consequences and can only be resolved by the government. I completely agree with this as the management in authority works on the housing development plans. Thus, it is important to limit the number of properties an individual can own and better construction plans for rural areas is another possible solution to look at. To start with, enforcing a law to restrict the number of properties a wealthy can buy will help to mitigate the risks associated with the shortage of houses. This is because the affluent invest their earnings largely in buying multiple properties even at a higher price, and as a result, people who are needy, struggle to own a single apartment. Furthermore, since real estate pricing is majorly driven by the demand, which is not affordable by the deprived section of the society, it is important to impose restrictions on the number of properties an individual can possess. Take, for example, a business tycoon in India claimed recently that he bought twelve flats in a newly built apartment in New Delhi. This proves that if this number is restricted to some extent, then many other flats can be purchased by people who are in struggling to find one. Another point to consider is that a flock of villagers move to metropolitan cities to live in concrete houses. This is because of the low-quality material that is being used to build properties in remote areas. Thus, the government should spend more money on constructing sustainable accommodations in villages. Consequently, the number of people competing to buy houses in the cities will reduce significantly. For instance, an NGO in India helped to move 30 families struggling to find a house in the city back to their district and provided fundings to rebuild their houses by replacing bamboos with cement and bricks. This role should be played by the government at a larger scale to provide assistance to families in need. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the government has a pivotal role to match the needs of all the residents in finding a place to live irrespective of their wealth.