What could be done to encourage people to buy local products? An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Technology has a great influence on human behaviour. With the advent of the internet, traditional offline businesses have also moved online, shopping is one such example. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of online shopping for both shoppers and businesses along with few ideas to promote local buying. Online shopping has made our lives much convenient. Goods can be delivered at our doorsteps with a few clicks on mobile and laptops. Moreover, digital shopping has reduced price discrimination as buyers can now compare prices online from various sources. For businesses, online shopping has expanded the customer base exponentially. Location is no more a constraint for individuals and companies alike. Someone in a small town can now shop from a place that is hundreds of kilometres away without leaving its home. On the flip side, there have been instances where buyers have been cheated with forged products in online shopping. This is almost impossible in the traditional way of offline shopping as a buyer checks the product before buying it. For companies, the competition has now increased dramatically as business owners now need to compete in the global market. To encourage people to buy local products, several measures can be taken. Offers and discounts are often used by online businesses to woo people, which are missing in traditional offline mode. Local shop owners can provide the facility of delivering the goods at home that are difficult for customers to handle logistically such as heavy electronics. To conclude, technology has opened several avenues, with both advantages and disadvantages, that were not available in the past. We have discussed online shopping above as one such example.