Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe only printed materials should be used. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the advancement of technology, where publications are converted into digital versions, paperback reading is being vastly replaced by e-book reading. There are many benefits of this, but at the same time, it has its negative side effects. Some people think that online reading materials should be used to teach children who are learning how to read. However, some people believe that printed reading material should be used. In this essay, I will pen down both views in detail followed by my opinion. Firstly, to list down the benefits of introducing digital reading material to kids, the first and foremost benefit is that e- books are more attractive than the hard version of a book. It comes in bright colours, pictures that attract small kids to learn and read. Digital books have a feature that they can be read aloud with the correct pronunciation. Online reading books are cheaper than paper-based books. Readers get ample options to choose from a variety of books to read available on the internet. These ebooks are easy to store for an unlimited period and can be read anywhere without worrying to carry book with yourself. At the same time, it is undeniable that there are disadvantages also which cannot be ignored. To avail the above-mentioned benefit, one has to shred a good amount of money on buying a device compatible with carrying e- books. It has fixed the recurring cost of the internet also. Being a high-value device, there are more chances of theft, losing it. The major disadvantage is the health issues, a child’s tender eyes are exposed to blue light and bright colours. The more they see the more they get addicted to these devices. And nowadays many online advertisements are coming up on the screen while reading which distracts kids from reading. To sum up, after knowing most of the pros and cons of introducing online reading material at a younger age, it is undeniable that the disadvantages overweigh the advantages. I strongly advocate the usage of paper-based books for children.