It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extend so you agree or disagree with this opinion?

To understand the difference between what is correct and incorrect in this society is vital for any group age. One persons habit starts from an early stage. I believe punishment is part of any correction to some extent. On one hand, to educate any child what is acceptable and what is not in the world we live in limits the danger they might face in their coming life. Although, verbal discution might be enough, however does not put emphasize on it to the full extent. For instance, a student in class steals a book from the library and brings it home. Firstly, stealing of any kind of material is a fellony. This time might be a book, similarly, stealing a car might be in the future. Instead of putting him in detention, one could try to correct this act verbally. However, if it happens continuosly, I believe punishment should come in place. By doing so, this child will be concious of the idea that you are not meant to take what does not belong to you. Secondly, there are different ways of punishment when one does not do the christian thing. To some extent, correcting children by some sort of method is more efficient than physical abuse. Punishment can set a boundary to limit the repeatition of a mistake. Children starting from young age should learn that every action has its consequence which shapes their mind in the future.  All in all, parents could start educating their kids the difference between what is acceptable and what is unacceptable in the life we live in. Besides punishment, if verbal communication is able to be implemented and proves that it working, punishment could be the last option to be taken of.