Researching and treating diseases is too costly so it would be better to invest in preventative measures. To what extent do you agree?

It is often argued that curing and researching illnesses is too expensive and investing in preventative measures would be more beneficial. However, while I believe that the prices of medical care are actually too exorbitant, I don’t think preventative measures will be benign in some instances. With regards to the individuals, the preventative measures that medical organizations usually offer have clear advantages. If people were to take their health more seriously and put prevention actions into use, it would be less costly for them in the future. For instance, research has shown that in many countries people only pay attention to their health issues when it has reached its maturing state. Furthermore, if our community follows these measures, there will be no need to spend a lot of money on treatment. On the other hand, actions aimed at preventing potential ailments do not usually work. There are many other diseases that are difficult to detect and avert at an early stage. Cancer is a prime example of this, along with hereditary diseases that can occur at any stage of a person’s life. These illnesses are nearly impossible to prevent when the disease has already taken a toll on a patient’s well-being. On this occasion, preventative measures will not result in anything and might even worsen over time. To conclude, although curing already existing illnesses is already too costly, investing in measures to thwart potential diseases will not be helpful in many cases. Illnesses, such as cancer or some hereditary diseases are hard to be prevented at an earlier stage of development.