With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

Today, the demand for fossil-based fuels is increasing rapidly. Therefore, to access more resources unexplored territories should be opened up. However, while I believe that the demand for oil and gas has increased tremendously, and new territories will help to improve the situation, I think that it will cause massive ecological issues. First of all, discovering new sources of oil and gas would cause problems associated with global warming. Digging enormous areas will increase the likelihood of temperature increase, which will result in melting ice caps. This will lead to flooding, famines and major global problems. Moreover, these kinds of resources will increase emissions into the atmosphere which will strengthen the likelihood of many diseases from tuberculosis to cancer. Secondly, countries that rely on the usage of non-renewable natural resources of energy will not be motivated to use ecologically clean energy resources. As a result, after mining the deposits of oil and gas, they will not be as expensive as they are now. Therefore, prices for these resources will fall tremendously and it will encourage other countries to use them. For instance, Germany has planned to switch to wind and solar energy instead because of the rapid depletion of fossil fuels. I believe that exploitation of ecologically clean resources of energy would improve the situation To conclude, while some think that the discovery of new deposits of gas and oil will improve the situation with the scarcity of mineral resources, I am of the opinion that it will lead to massive global problems from flooding to climate change.