In many nations, people in huge cites either live alone or in samll family units, instead of a large, extended family. Is this a positive or negative trend?

There is a trend that most people living in metropolitan areas prefer to live alone or with a small number of family members, rather than with a large family as in the past. Some people see this as a welcoming trend, and others see it as a negative trend. I agree with the latter view. Keeping a small family does reduce the cost of living in a big city, especially nowadays when house prices and rents are increasing day by day. However, living alone in a small flat can cause more serious issues, like mental problems. Bigger cities bring more opportunities but also more pressure. Especially as social creatures, it is not enough for people to relieve their emotions on their own and social media. That also means that family is precious to those swamped with work, and only accompanying can bring them some comfort. It is a dangerous trend for these people who live alone and their families left behind elsewhere. They are unable to see their families for long durations, particularly the elderly who have been left behind in their hometowns and who need not only psychological companionship but also physical help. Unfortunately, their children are so far away and occupied with work that they have to go to the hospital themselves when they need an operation. In conclusion, I reiterate my view that keeping a small size of the family in big cities is a negative trend. People need to strike a balance between their material needs and their psychological needs, rather than just giving up one side to preserve the other.