Fewer and fewer people today write by hand using a pen pencil or brush. What are the reasons? Is this a positive or a negative development?

With rapid technological advancement, the traditional practice of using pens, pencils or brushes on papers are declining in popularity. There are a few reasons why this is happening, and I believe this is a positive trend. Nowadays, computers are used by employees across the world to communicate and get work done efficiently, be it locally or internationally. Instead of writing letters using pencils or pens, then mailing it out for the recipient to receive within weeks, the computer is just a button away for the same letter to appear and recipients are able to receive emails almost instantly. With fast advancement of technology for the past few decades, the speed for these processes gets faster each year. Therefore, this will help international business partners and multinational companies make prompt progress, as well as to allow economies to grow at a faster pace. Additionally, the invention of creative art software in digital mobile devices allows artists to complete their art commissions quickly and accurately. Unlike painting with traditional brushes, which a mistake cannot be undone on an art piece, the functions available in creative art software is forgiving of artists’ mistake as it allows them to remove a specific brush stroke and re-do it for a beautiful art piece. Therefore, artists are able to improve their skills conveniently while being able to meet the demands of their commissioners more efficiently and accurately than traditional art methods. In conclusion, more people are using computers and mobile devices to execute their work and create art, respectively. This is due to the fact that computerised products are much more efficient and convenient than traditional practices with pen, pencil and brush.