International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

Recently, thanks to globalization, travelling has become very common. As a result, a lot of money from annual savings is spent by travellers where they go. Consequently, the local economy takes advantage of all the income tourism causes. On the other hand, overtourism can damage both the environment and locals. Overall, the main advantage is that lots of earnings are made from tourist places like restaurants, hotels and attractions. Therefore, that money is sometimes spent to finance restorations of monuments. For example, inside Trevi's fountain, roughly one million euros are collected every year! This income is used by the municipal administration to preserve other historical beauties in the city. On the other hand, If a certain place is visited by more people than it is capable of, it will certainly be harmed, as well as local inhabitants. For instance, in The Maldives a couple of years ago was popular among tourists to bring home samples of sand, causing disastrous consequences on local animals like turtles. In fact, since their eggs were hatching under the sand, by removing it an enormous amount of unborn turtles were killed. In conclusion, overtourism is both a plague and a fortune for locals. I believe that the pros will outweigh the cons if some reforms are made in the near future. An example is what is happening in Sardinia, where local authorities restrict entrances to some protected beaches by making tourists book in advance. Subsequently, the access to the beach is limited, and a tax to whoever wants to visit the place is applied. This results in preserving the landscape and making money at the same time.