Some people believe that a person's intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

Inheritance of a person ’s intelligence is a hotly debated topical. Some people opine that it is passed on from parents, however, others argue, that the living conditions play a major role in its development. I believe that both, inheritance and surroundings, dictate, how intelligent, a person would be. I will discuss both views. On one hand, few advocate that human beings inherit intelligence from their father and mother. They probably refer to the scientific laws of inheritance, where a child gets the characteristics from parents. For example, a child might have almost matching height, body frame, and colour of skin. Furthermore, a person is also at risk of developing a similar nature of disease as of his or her parents. For example, a person is likely to get Diabetes, if the parents are having the same illness. On the other hand, the environment also plays a pivotal role in the development of intelligence. The conditions in which a person is brought up dictates the level of intelligence a person will display in the future. For instance, if a person does not get a formal education, it would be difficult for one to understand the basics of any issue. Secondly, those who are born in a community with no access to basic amenities will have numerous health issues that will affect the growth of the brain. Finally, someone who comes from disturbed families will have a detrimental effect on mental health and may lead to many psychological issues. Therefore, the environment can affect a person's intelligence in a different way than intelligence. In conclusion, intelligence level is dependent upon both the inheritance and the conditions under which someone is brought up and there is a strong interplay of both these factors.