In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Taking a gap year after high school education is very common in some countries. Opponents of this notion claim out about some repercussions and negative aspects of travelling and working right after school study. In the following paragraphs, I will discuss the merits and demerits of the statement and will explain both views with examples. On the one hand, taking a year to travel or work can be a difficult decision for many students. There are several drawbacks of not attending university after school graduation. Firstly, during the travelling period. the laziness of students enhances, thereby increasing unwillingness to learn after. Secondly, students may not only get lost during their journey but also get injured or sick. Lastly, undergraduates who decided to go to work and are not qualified enough cannot expect high positions. These situations may contribute to the loss of confidence and ambitions among scholars. The research shows the growing number of students who have to work but cannot be hired by companies due to the lack of knowledge. On the other hand, a gap year providers many advantages which overweight the disadvantages. Choosing to work after high school study increases people's work experience and work relationships. If an undergraduate represents himself as an excellent worker with a desire to achieve the organization's goals, he will be able to get investments from the companies for his future education. In fact, it is a common practice when part of the budget of multi-million firms is funded for educational purposes in order to provide the future of the company with demand workers. Compared to work, going to travel is also have benefits. Many people are aware that travel broadens our minds through meeting new people, cultures and traditions, and finding new interests. As an example, the BBC writer has realised a book about his experience of travelling all around the world before starting university study. He depicts the importance of this choice and how the new culture opened his eyes to positive thinking and creativity. In conclusion, some nations can point out the disadvantages of taking a gap year after school, however, there are more benefits of taking it than not.