In many countries children are getting fatter and less fit day by day. Why is it so and suggest solutions.

In some parts of the world, there is an increasing trend of children getting less fit and putting on more weight. This essay will discuss some of the reasons for this trend and propose measures to mitigate them. One of the biggest contributing factor to children getting fatter is the increased consumption of fast food. Children often are influenced by seeing more and more fast- food consumption around them and give in to the temptation of following the trend. Fast food is notoriously famous for its paucity of nutritional value and for the harm it causes to one’s health. Research has shown that fast food is one of the main culprits for the increase in obesity around the world. Therefore, with increased consumption of fast food amongst children, they are prone to become obese. To tackle this problem, there needs to be contribution both from the government and the parents. Parents should encourage children to follow a more nutritional diet by by offering them small incentives as reward, so that they are more motivated to eat healthier food. As for the latter, government should ban the sale of fast food, in and around the school campus, and instead, promote sale of healthier food, so that the children would have less accessibility to fast food and would be naturally forced to replace it with what is available. As for the issue of children becoming less fit, a chief reason is because children these days are not active. This is because of the increased availability of the means to play video games. With every household having electronic gadget like computers, tablets and multiple smart phones, this problem has only worsened. For example, it is very common these days that children often sit in one place for hours playing video games, instead of, going out and playing with other children. To mitigate this issue, parents should restrict the use of the electronic devices for the children. As a result, children would be pushed to play outdoor with other children and once they would realise the pleasure of doing so, they would make it part of their routine. In conclusion, two of the main reasons for the children becoming more obese and less healthy are the increased consumption of fast food and the increase in sedentary activity like playing video games. However, these issues can be mitigated if parents offer the children incentives for healthy eating and restrict screen time, and if the government replaces fast food with healthy options, in and around school campus.