Some people use the Internet for the solution to their medical problem. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and example from your experience

The advance of technology has let people start doing some things by themself. Such as saying the statement, some of these things look for the solution to their medical problems. I think that many times it could be positive, when it is a minor medical problem, but when it is an important medical problem that could be negative. Therefore I will explain the cases I consider positive and the negative cases. On one hand, people who use the internet to look, not the solution to their medical problem, but to determine what kind of sickness they could have. For example, if someone feels a strange sensation in his nose, he could look on the internet and find that problems of the nose can be attended by a head specialist. As a result, he can go directly to this specialist, saving time. Additionally, they will spend less money, because they don´t have to pay first to a general doctor, just to redirect them to the specialist. On the other hand, this experience could be negative if you try to diagnosticate yourself and start a natural treatment for your symptoms. Moreover, some people go beyond medicating themself, using the internet to look for a medication to attack their symptoms. That behaviour is bad because normally the people don't have the knowledge to determine exactly what sickness do they have, nor to determine the doses of the medicines. Although that could finish bad, nowadays it is very normal to find people medicating them selfs. In summary, Such as I mentioned at the beginning, I think that use the internet for the solution of medical problems, could be positive for a first opinion or minor problems. But when a symptom appears frequently you must go to visit a specialist with the competence to diagnostic adequately.