In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

Youngsters across the globe start to live independently or with their fellows post completion of their school education and leave their parents accommodation. In my opinion, it is certainly an optimistic advancement. This essay will discuss the reason why it is a positive development. Firstly, a decision to proceed with life while being away from parents after school education increases the chances of their success in life. This is because, upon discontinuation, the practical challenges of life are experienced by the youngsters that are to be dealt with independently by them without any intervention of their supportive parents which makes them self dependent. As a result, they become fully equipped with the required survival skills that allow them to proceed with their tertiary education or to seek for employment in different parts of the world where a barrier of dependency on parents no longer exists. For instance, many international students leave their homes after schooling and immigrate abroad to proceed with their university education in developed countries which opens numerous career paths for them and they are able to secure high paying jobs while leading a quality lifestyle. Secondly, living away from parents after school and reside with friends also contribute to the development of the imperative skills of life in youngsters. It means while living with mates they learn to adjust themselves according to the nature and behaviour of their roommates whereas they are literally in their comfort zone at their parents home while living with parents. This habit of adjustment inculcates numerous qualities in youngsters. For instance, the patient level is improved with young people who live with their argumentative friends and they also learn to handle heated arguments among roommates. Hence, such qualities inculcated at a tender age after schooling make rest of the life easier as the individuals become more flexible and versatile. Conclusively, a certain rise in the possibility of success and few essential lessons of important skills of life learnt by youngsters when they begin living away from their parents makes it a positive development.