Some people believe that children should always have activities organized for them in their free time. Others believe that children themselves should choose what they do in their free time. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

Whether parents should allow children to arrange their free time has been controversial, especially in an age full of competition. From my perspective, despite some potential adverse impacts, arranging time freely helps children to fully develop their characters. This might sound like a cliche but it is indeed essential for children. For illustration, Mo Yan, a Nobel Prize winner, once recalled his childhood with gratitude that his mother was ordinary but open-minded, seldom intervening with his writing, which at the time, was merely childish limericks. Mo Yan believed that if his mother had forced him to do something "meaningful" instead, he would never develop his genius in composition. This example suggests that like seeds, children need time and freedom to grow into their true selves, which precisely comes from their freedom during childhood to do what they are interested in. The plausible conclusion drawn from the example seems to be the appeal of giving children more freedom after school. I, however, do not want to be so arbitrary. Actually, I can totally understand, at least I think I can, the concern underlying the overemphasis on organized activities. It is the apprehension that their children will be left behind if they do not spend enough time on academic or physical training that continually induces parents to deprive children of free time. This kind of concern has escalated to the point where one of my acquaintances even started teaching his three-year-old son to learn English. While this kind of worry is understandable, it is unnecessary, as children will naturally mature at their own pace, and therefore perhaps we ought to give their freedom back. To summarise, children can fully develop their characters if parents grant them enough freedom in how to spend their free time. Parents should not be so concerned with competition that they end up depriving children of the choice to be themselves.