The Government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of public. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, due to the advancement of technology, scientists have provided evidence of life on other planets. The government had been very supportive of this research financially; however, there have been recent arguments where some people believe it can be used better in addressing problems of the public. In this essay, I will discuss my notes on this concern and provide my extent of agreement. Firstly, it is genuine for the public to be concerned as there were various situations in recent times when the government failed in extending its support. For instance, considering the latest flooding in Chennai, India where most lower rural areas were evacuated and there was severe damage to public property. Although there was no death recorded, civilians had suffered a lack of shelter and food. If there was additional support from the rulers, the situation would have been handled better. As a result, public concern is understandable. Secondly, On the other hand, we are blessed to be in a rapidly developing environment. It is the responsibility of the rulers to support every sector. It would not be fair to consider any field less important. Addressing this point, I feel there is a set budget planned for every sector and all these decisions are made at the beginning of the new financial year also they do have emergency relief funds which are used for unforeseen incidents. For example, if there is a forest fire, the required course of action is taken and sometimes its spread can be worst than expected. In such cases, they fall short of the aid and might provide slower service. In those scenarios, individuals may experience inadequate support from the officials. To conclude, I feel being supportive of the new developments is a wonderful practice, at the same time, failure in addressing problems cannot be overlooked. Both locals and officials need to understand each other's needs and work together for a better society. I do not agree nor disagree with the argument.