Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

It has been observed that fewer people opt for bicycles as their main type of transportation. This is because the weather in some countries is naturally hot, making it inconvenient to bike to work. However, this can be solved by placing shower rooms for employees to clean after their morning ride to work. One of the main reasons why travel by bike is not a preferable commuting option is the weather as some places are naturally hot and some even are humid, making it difficult to ride bicycles to work. Riding bikes under the hot sun will make people sweat, and eventually, it will smell bad if they do not get cleaned immediately. For instance, in Cambodia, people admitted that biking is good for health; however, because of the unfavourable weather, many do not adopt this kind of healthy exercise to commute to work. In order to promote bicycles as a form of transport, particularly for work, I believe having the facilities to enable workers to shower and get cleaned after the morning ride would be a cost-effective way. This is because the employees will be able to exercise more often and, as a result, they will become more productive. For example, in South Korea, there are a growing number of workplaces with separate shower rooms for their workers because those enterprises address the needs of their employees and also want to promote healthy lifestyles among their staff. In conclusion, the weather is one of the main reasons why people do not prefer to commute to work by bike as they know that they will sweat by the time they reach their workplaces; nonetheless, it is recommended that workplaces, especially those located in the hot weather nations should invest in building hygienic facilities so as to boost their staff performance.