In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is not enough to simply have more police on the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Issues related to diminish crime are frequently discussed these days. It is argued that having more police on the street and put offenders into prison is not effective procedures. I completely agree with that solving the main sources of crime such as education and financial position is vital. The strongest reason to consider is that education is an element for individual behaviors. Studies about civil rights and justice make people less likely to become robbers in the future. There is no cause to commit a crime if they have enough money to provide their family. For instance, In Singapore, which has the one of the best educational systems in the world, the crime rate is among the lowest in the world. Therefore, learning more about crime and punishment, one of the most powerful prevent method, is the effective way to lead education reduces crime. In contrast, some opponents argue that there are benefits of giving offenders severe sentences. Especially, spending a long time in prison provides an opportunity for the prison services to rehabilitate a prisoner. This view seems plausible, but it fails to consider that leaving people in prison for a long time will lead them learn criminal skills from other prisoner. This will result in worse situation and their character will not improve. Also, the government could focus resources on the causes of crime. All things considered, I am of the opinion that an efficient education is suitable reason to prevent crime. Yet the government should advocate to provide it.