In many countries today in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In many nations, people in huge cities are more likely to live alone or in a small family than in a large, extended household. This trend brings both advantages and disadvantages that everyone, especially young people, should consider. And my personality opinion will be explained in this essay. On the one hand, this trend has many positive aspects. Nowaday, many young people do not prefer to live the traditional lifestyle of their parents and grandparents. They want to have their own space and control their lives. Living alone or in a small family gives people a sense of freedom. They can also practice independence and learn some useful life skills to take care of themself. So living independently or in smaller family groups allows each person their preferred lifestyle. On the other hand, this trend also brings several drawbacks. Parents and grandparents are getting older, they will face many physical and mental health problems. If people live alone, They cannot take good care of their loved ones and no one cares about them. It also reduces family affection or any bonds between generations. They will face challenges and difficulties alone, sometimes they will miss out some valuable life lessons that can be taught by previous generations who have a lot of life experience. Besides the feeling of freedom, living alone brings the feeling of loneliness. It will lead to psychological and behavioral problems. In general, This trend has both positive and negative aspects. Therefore, each of us should consider carefully in choosing our lives.