Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Studying other fields at university that will be support students in the future plays an increasingly essential role in today’s society. It is argued that others believe that they can choose the course from their passion. Both of these views have arguments and this essay will be discussed in the following paragraphs. The primary reason to consider is that learning other courses such as computer science will help students more competitive for their future work. If employees have other hard skills such as computer skills, the chance they will get a job is increase. An illustration of this is that a new jobber who has an extra computer skills, Microsoft office or advanced statistics like SPSS or R, will have more possibility to get that job. Moreover, a further aspect of studying other subjects apart from their field is the way to demonstrate their flexible for cope with other problems that could not predict. This shows that students who can study variety subjects in the college must face with other critical thinking subjects than others who study only one field. In contrast, some opponents may argue that students who learn from their passionate will acquire a good attitude when they studied that support them to perform a better work in their performance. Consequently, students will get a high grade if they have a freedom to select a course they prefer. Perhaps this is true, but it cannot be denied that only hard skills that relate to especial field will not enough to stand in the next future work because technology decade is coming to this world. All things considered, only hard skills relating with specific field might enough to perform work. However, I personally believe that learning other hard skills will need to be allowed. Therefore, university should have compulsory courses that can be utilized their future work.