Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

The ever-increasing business growth has paved the way for the omnipresence of advertisements in multiple aspects of daily life. I believe that this trend can have both positive and negative impacts in equal measure, as now will be discussed. On the one hand, the widespread presence of advertisements can bring many advantages to both customers and society. With regard to the former, the key feature of advertising is to supply prospective customers with details about newly launched products and services, which is essential for consumers who are still unaware of such offerings. As a result, they can make better shopping choices. For example, by watching many TV commercials about different brands of technological devices, such as smartphones or watches, I can choose the one that works best for me. As for the latter, the expansion of advertising in various forms generates a lot of job opportunities worldwide for people, ranging from graphic design, photography to social media marketing. The more prevalent advertisements are, the higher the demand for jobs in this industry becomes, contributing to decreased unemployment rates and rising living standards. On the other hand, the increasing popularity of advertising is also a detrimental development to some certain extent. The first drawback is that as advertising has a negative knock-on effect on the environment, it has the power to create higher demands for consumer goods. Therefore, more carbon dioxide is emitted into the air, and more waste is produced through the production and consumption of goods, exacerbating the problem of air and water pollution. Another drawback is that many enterprises use exaggerated and false claims, which are made in advertisements. This can create the desire and taste for new products which are not necessities of life. Many customers, as a result, tend to buy products they do not need in their daily life. In conclusion, in my opinion, the ubiquity of commercials has both beneficial and detrimental effects.