Many people go to university for academic study. More people should be encouraged to do vocational training because there is a lack of qualified workers such as electricians and plumbers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many people prefer to pursue academic studies at university rather than to follow vocational courses. Although I agree that the need for academic graduates can be denied, there is still a shortage of skilled workers, including electricians and plumbers. There are several reasons why more workers should be trained in skilled professions. Firstly, such workers are vital when new buildings are constructed,and when existing buildings have to be renovated or simply maintained. Moreover, permanent maintenance staff is employed in museums, hospitals, and schools, ensuring the safety of people that use the buildings. Secondly, in many developed countries, there is an existing imbalance in the economy, resulting in graduate unemployment, while at the same time there is a shortage of manual labour. Therefore, governments should work with employers to ensure that extra vocational training courses are provided. More people should be encouraged to attend vocational training courses. The most important thing is that schools should incorporate relevant subjects into their curriculum, which do not place all the emphasis on preparation for academic studies at university. Moreover, workshops in schools should provide an opportunity for schoolchildren to learn “hands-on skills”, and to adapt the physics theory into practical lessons. Another thing is that governments should work with employers to ensure that extra vocational courses are provided. In addition, parents should help their children to follow vocational courses, explaining the good job prospects and remuneration for workers with skills and qualifications. In conclusion, I think that more people should be encouraged to pursue academic studies, because,without them, society can not function effectively.