Some people perceive shopping as a form of self-indulgence, while others think that people should only buy things they need. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days, whether or not shopping should be considered as a type of self pleasure has become a controversial topic. While many people think that shopping is buying stuffs that needed, I believe that considering shopping as self-indulgence is more reasonable in the recent years. On the one hand, there are several reasons why people think that shopping is buying necessary things. Firstly, by only purchasing essential things, people could manage their finance effectively. As a result, individuals tend to save a great deal of money for other more important purposes such as education or health care. Furthermore, people who follow the minimalist lifestyle consider shopping as a type of wasting money. Therefore, they only spend money on goods that they really need. On the other hand, I believe that shopping should be perceive as a kind of self-indulgence. The first reason is that buying things help people feel comfortable and relaxed. This is because research has shown that through purchasing the body generates oxytocin and endorphin hormones which simulate the brain to think positively. Moreover, consumers possessing fancy stuffs give people a sense of satisfaction. For example, people try to own the latest version of Iphone in order to indulge themselves, eventhough their old phone still works well. It is clear that people nowadays behave emotionally when shopping rather than practically. In conclusion, although some people believe that shopping should be considered as a way of buying needed things, I believe that shopping needs to be understood as a way of self indulgence.