Some people say that the only reason for learning language is in order to travel ro or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe the only aim of learning language is to work or travel overseas, while others hold the opinion that there should be several reasons to learn a foreign language. From my perspective, I favour the second opinion that language not only serves as a means of communication but also acts as a medium for culture and a reflection of thought processes. There is no doubt that learning a foreign language is conducive for individuals who travel or work abroad. Specifically, being able to speak local language can enhance communication and adapt to the local social environment better. For example, if you can speak Japanese while visiting Japan, you will be able to ask for directions effectively and reach your destination quickly since English proficiency in Japan is not very widespread. Nevertheless, communication is only one reason for learning a foreign language, and we ought to pay attention to the cultural significance and logical framework that it carries. First of all, learning a foreign language is learning its culture as it is one of the most significant mediums of culture. Different countries have their own unique cultures, which can be observed through their languages. For instance, in order to better understand Ancient Egypt culture many historians make great efforts to learn Egyptian, even though it is not used today. Another case in point is that German words are categorized as masculine, feminine and nurture, and their expressions of numbers are extremely complex and are different from most languages in other countries. But if you learn German, you will understand why Germans are so meticulous. In conclusion, for most people, learning a foreign language is mainly for better work or travel. But we ought not to take a part for the whole and realize the other significant meanings held by learning a foreign language.