Many countries have compulsory military service for young men after they leave school. It would be a good idea for all countries to adopt this system for men, and possibly for women too. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

An obligation that is related to passing military service after high school graduation is a common practice for a number of countries and mostly affects men whereas for the last decade it fair for many genders. The idea to implement this practice globally is a hot topic nowadays. Despite some positive aspects, I strongly believe that there is no universal rule which is applicable to each case as well as strong reasons for mandatory presence in the army for a certain period of time. In this essay, I will discuss why I hold this viewpoint. The diversity in cultural, economic and social aspects dictates the policy for the army structure and service requirements. For example, in some places the culture is standing against weapons and violence, in addition, to support a sufficient number of people for military the significant funds should be adopted. These points play against compulsory attendance in the army due to possible scenarios where people will try to escape from this obligation and the fact that some governments do not have enough money to support the service. The second argument that should be considered as a negative point for the mandatory service is the fact that the number of wars is continuously decreasing during the last century. The idea itself was implemented to provide the possibility for the state to mobilize trained people fast in case of an attack or an emergency, moreover, it was proven as an efficient strategy in history. While there are some valuable arguments that vote for, it is clear now that wars are under extinction as a way to solve problems and society does not require a big army at the moment. In conclusion, I would like to highlight that despite governments could still find a number of reasons to obligate citizens to serve in the army. I strongly believe that it should not be the rule of thumb for every place on the earth and the policy should be aligned with the cultural code and economic resources of the country.