Scientists believe that the world is in danger due to environmental changes. Some people say that personal lifestyle changes should be made to reduce the damage to environment, while others think that the government should do something to help. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is undeniable the the today’s world is facing a climate crisis. While some experts believe it is the responsibility of the public to impede environmental changes, others are of the view that these issues should be handled by authorities. However, I think that protecting the ecosystem is a collective responsibility that needs both parties to joint efforts. Both points of view along with my opinion will be further explained in the following lines. On the one hand, small changes in people’s day-to-day life could greatly alter the environmental situation. If employees start commuting to and from work using zero-emission vehicles, this will immensely reduce greenhouse effects and might decarbonize the atmosphere. In Norway, for instance, many citizens depend on bikes to transport and this has mitigated many ecological issues in the country. Another step forward is to follow a plant-based diet which minimizes one’s carbon footprint. Therefore, individuals should adopt healthier habits to allow the environment to recover. On the other hand, intervention from governments is crucial, especially when it comes to educating people and introducing strict policies. Utilizing the media to raise awareness and including environmental topics in schools’ curriculum, have both proved effective in creating more environmentally conscious nations. A good example is Kuwait which launched several campaigns in recent years to clean the country’s shores and preserve its marine life, and children besides youth were encouraged to participate in these activities. Furthermore, a key solution is to impose heavy taxes to deter huge corporations from exploiting natural resources. This shows that authorities shouldn’t turn a blind eye to these issues but rather try to solve them actively. In conclusion, after discussing both views, what can be said is that reversing environmental damage requires the cooperation on both the personal and the governmental level to reap the rewards of a balanced ecological system.