In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Every culture has a different way of motivating its kids and are usually advised that they can get anything by putting in hard work. Such a way of encouraging kids can both be advantageous and may have some demerits also. I will describe both in my essay. To start with, pursuing adolescent in the right direction by giving appropriate guidelines play an instrumental role in building their personality. When a youngster is told that he can achieve almost anything that he dreams of, actually he is being ignited to perform exceptionally well. This will enable the adolescent to reach a higher matched in their career, which might have not been possible. Furthermore, this helps minor in developing self-confidence, which will equip them with the required skills to navigate successfully in their lives. Secondly, juvenile with positive support from the community develop a sense of competition, and consequently a strong community is formed. Societies will have more contributors to their economy and would shape into a progressive nation in all spheres of life. Finally, highly motivated youth will be better human beings and their offspring will also be high achievers. Turning to the downside, every teenager may not get the required motivation to perform well and he may think it to be an impossibility to do anything he wants. Every youngster has a different matched of understanding and intelligence matched. For example, if a kid who is average in intelligence is told that he can do anything he likes and consequently he will fail miserably trying beyond his capability, will be detrimental to his career. In conclusion, youth ought to be advised according to their intelligence and educational level to achieve optimum benefits of encouragement. The adverse effects can be reduced and children could be saved with adequate guidance.