In some countries, more young adults continue to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

After having secured employment, numerous possibilities will open up to young persons as to which lifestyle they want to adopt. Regardless, in some regions, these individuals choose to continue sharing a home with their parents. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this situation. Nonetheless, the drawbacks, which are characterized by conflicts between family members, certainly outweigh any benefits. The most prominent advantages of multigenerational households are mutual gains enjoyed by all age groups. The elderly often become ill and lonely in old age, hence having their children close by means daily healthcare on both the physical and mental levels. Regarding young adults who are usually employed full-time, their parents can help babysit their children when they are at work. This work distribution is largely the norm in Asian countries such as Vietnam, China and India, and not without good reasons. In these developing countries, residents who just found a job oftentimes cannot afford nannies for their infants below nursing school age, so a helping hand from the seniors is very much welcomed. Furthermore, with the opportunities to talk to the seniors regularly, people in their twenties can absorb a lot of practical knowledge and experience which will aid them in their career and personal life. However, having multiple generations sharing the same roof can lead to constant disagreements. This issue originates from parents’ habit to “fix” their children’s behaviour by reprimanding actions they consider “wrong”. During childhood, it might be best for the kids to have their mothers and fathers make major decisions for them, but as grown-ups, no functional grown-ups are comfortable with persistent observation and criticism from their elderly, not to mention that such advice may no longer be relevant to the present time. For example, while seniors would want to educate their grandchildren with strict discipline and punishments, just like in old times, young parents would likely prefer more modern, psychologically proven methods which include allowing the kids to freely explore their interests. In many Asian families, this. has become a severe and prolonged conflict that leads to constant arguments within the household which are toxic to all members. In summary, although both the elderly and young members will enjoy some benefits by living together, unavoidable conflicts will arise from the pre-existing parental relationship. As evidence suggests that such conflicts are usually persistent and malfunctioning, I think the disadvantages prevail, and young adults should purchase their own homes instead.