More and more people are migrating to cities in search of a better life, but city life can be extremely difficult. Explain some of the difficulties of living in a city. How can governments make urban life better for everyone?

An increasing number of people are moving to large metropolises in the hope of a better future. This essay will discuss some of the challenges of living in urban areas and several measures that governments could take to improve the quality of life for all city residents. One of the main problems that urban dwellers have to deal with is traffic congestion. Increasing unproductive travel time not only causes stress and tiredness but also lowers work productivity. City commuters often have to spend between 30 minutes and an hour sitting in traffic on their way to and from work. Another drawback of living in a major city is poor air quality caused by the significant rise in the amount of toxic emissions released from power plants and industrial sites in recent years. Serious air pollution puts inhabitants of cities at a higher risk of lung cancer, asthma attacks and other respiratory illnesses. There are a number of approaches that urban policymakers can implement to tackle the problems mentioned above. First, it is necessary to improve public transport to make it more attractive to people. The problem of traffic would be effectively addressed if more people decided to use buses or commuter trains instead of their private vehicles. The government could also consider charging peak-hour tolls to discourage drivers from travelling during peak periods. Second, in order to improve the quality of air in major metropolises, stricter regulations should be imposed to limit hazardous gas emissions and encourage the use of more environmentally friendly energy sources. In conclusion, various steps could be taken in order to solve traffic congestion and air pollution, which are the two main problems facing urban life.