Some people believe that children that commit crimes should be punished. Others think the parents should be punished instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of who should assume responsibility concerning crimes committed by the youths has become more and more debatable as some argue that parents should be fully accountable for the incident. In my opinion, while there are some exceptions, most cases merit greater punishment for parents. The most frequently cited rationale against this reform is that parents are not always culpable. There are numerous instances of loving parents who raise their kid well but social problems still manifest from a young age. One of the salient illustrations of this is predominately indicated in the case if a child suffers from a mental illness such as a dissociative disorder. This condition may stem from simple genetics in which case parents should not be punished or trauma that primary caregivers are not aware of. For instance, if they have been abused at school or by a relative then it follows logically the offending, rather than innocent, party should be brought to justice. Albeit I concede the important exceptions that the courts must sort through, I still contend that parental abuse and neglect should be punishable. Studies have elucidated that most young children, who commit crimes, have been abused to some extent by their parents. This can be most apparently seen in serial killers which are an extreme but useful source in point. The majority of serial killers begin antisocial behaviour from a young age including the criminal torture of animals. There is also no evidence of serial killers coming from happy homes or stable upbringings. This has reasoned that parents play a pivotal role in moulding the psyche of the youngsters as there has been a clear and tangible impact on the behaviour induced by them. In conclusion, there are some cases where parents are not at fault for criminal acts by their offspring but in most situations, they are the driving force. In my view, governors and educators should propose a more holistic approach in order to tackle this and mitigate further severity.