Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views

It is true that some people still believe that academic studies at university are the best way to guarantee a successful career, while others argue that schoolchildren should have a job after graduating from high school. Although I agree that having a job after graduation has its own benefits, I would argue that it is better to study at university. There are some benefits to having a job after graduation. Firstly, when young people earn money as soon as possible, they can become more mature and independent, because they are able to live on their own by their income. Moreover, it is common knowledge that having a job helps young people more mature. Secondly, doing a profession straight after university, young people can have better job prospects. For example, by experiencing various workplaces, they can have an opportunity to acquire more skills and thus, they can apply experience gained from previous employment into practice at new workplaces and acquire recognition for their capabilities. However, I believe that students should pursue higher education after graduating from high school. The most important thing is that workers with a degree can meet the standards that employers come to expect. Another thing is that the world of work today becomes more competitive, thus those who have qualifications and skills can move up their careers and be highly paid. In conclusion, although having a job after graduation has its own benefits, It seems to me that students should pursue academic studies at universities or colleges.