In some countries university students live at home with their family while they study, whereas in other countries students attend university in another city. Do you think the benefits of living away from home during university outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The advantages of living far from home for university are a common discussion topic. While being apart from family is beneficial, I contend that there are some ineffective points that should be taken into consideration. To begin with, many undergraduates tend to attend a distant university for several compelling reasons. Primarily, faraway schools may allow for a high quality of education, by providing individuals with larger institutions, more modern classroom equipment, or international connections. For instance, studies revealed that 60% of Vietnamese high school students choose to study abroad in a different country after graduation in order to learn with foreign teachers and improve their language skills, even if the time spent with their parents is reduced to one or two times per year. In addition, schools in urban cities, which are a great distance from one's house, may provide better opportunities for future occupation. Nowadays, a lot of big universities offer mentorship programs which positively impact both students and employers, as they increase the talents of businesses and reduce the unemployment rate. Conversely, staying far away from home is not the absolute wholesome option. Firstly, living without the care of family can trigger an unhealthy lifestyle, as young people normally find it difficult to balance their hours spent studying, with housing, and other leisure activities. For example, first-year students who need to attend many fundamental courses usually study until late at night, so they do not have time for self-cooking and prefer to order fast food, leading to an increase in potential health issues afterwards. Furthermore, not being close to your loved ones for a long time could eventually lead to stress and depression. A real case for this is when young people make a mistake in an unfamiliar area, surrounded by strangers, they feel ashamed and barely find an opportunity to express their feelings; consequently, they become melancholy and isolated. In conclusion, the advantages of studying far from home are contingent upon individual circumstances and priorities. However, overall, a balanced approach that considers distance, along with a balanced lifestyle and mental health, is essential when choosing a university.