Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is an irrefutable fact that trains are the safest and stress-free mode of transportation. However, many people still choose cars, taxies or aeroplanes to travel to their destinations. Some people believe that the government should invest more funds into railways than roadways. I totally agree with this opinion. The following paragraphs will highlight my perspective. Nowadays even in developed countries, trains are overcrowded, unreliable and time-consuming. These are the main reasons people do not always select trains as a preferred transportation mode. Increased funding of the railways would tackle the aforementioned issues. First and foremost, more people will get into trains and leave their cars at home. Trains are eco-friendly, and economically efficient compared to cars and aeroplanes. Take, for example, vehicles. Carbon dioxide emissions may have a grievous impact on global climate and individual's health. Additionally, decreased traffic congestion would deter people from experiencing stress, anxiety and anger. This would facilitate the improved mental health of individuals. Secondly, a developed train network can increase inner tourism and greatly support the economy of the country. For instance, the train connecting the ancient Bukhara city and the capital, Tashkent city in Uzbekistan used to take 7 hours. Recently our government has purchased several high-speed trains from Italy, now it takes only 4 hours thereby developing inner tourism. To conclude, trains are comfortable and stress-free means of transportation. I strongly believe that governments should allocate more money to the development of trains, as this will improve journey time and make travel more convenient.