Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed becaused of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

It is evident that technology has changed the ways of communication and influenced relationships in a various. People often debate whether this phenomenon has any negative or positive development on relationships. In my opinion, even though this advancement may have some positive impact, its influences are mainly negative. To begin with, the principal way in which a relationship has been affected by technology is that they tend to be far away rather than face-to-face. This is because the internet is now available in many parts of the world and thus, people can communicate with their friends, families, and clients scattered across the world no matter the distance. Therefore, it would be more convenient for people to interact on the internet. In addition, the dominance of online communication can help us meet new people and expand our friend circle through various social platforms. For example, Facebook, one of the most successful social networking website, has a feature that recommends us people that has mutual friends or individuals that we may interested in following. However, despite these merits, communicating through electronic devices has made the quality of interaction significantly declined in several aspects. If people are developing most of their relationships online, this means that they may also have less person-to-person contact. As a result, online communication is likely to undermine a person's social ability in real life. For instance, a worker may be unable to connect with his co-workers well because he spends a majority of his time chatting on the internet. In addition, the bonds between people online are often weak and short-lasting. By contrast friendships in real life are different, people see each other regularly and have a strong and long-lasting relationship. Hence, one can conclude that technology has influenced relationships in a negative way. In conclusion, although technology has brought particular positive development in the way people interact with each other such as eliminating the need to travel as well as the chance to have a plethora of new friends, I believe that this is overall a negative development because of the short duration of a relationship online and the decrease in one's social skills.