Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping online instead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

The effect of technology is visible across various sectors; the growth of online retailing is one of them. Humans now prefer to shop in the comfort of their homes rather than visiting shops. This change in consumer behaviour is mainly due to pricing and convenience. Although there are benefits of this trend, it affected the employment opportunities as well as the local traders. On the one hand, the increase in application-based business benefitted the shopaholics as they can purchase things seamlessly and at a cheaper rate. The competitive pricing strategy adopted by e-retailers is very fascinating. Besides that, the policies for exchange, alteration are extremely flexible. For example, the famous online retailer named, "Amazon", provides all the essential clothing and electronic gadgets and instruments at much lower prices if compared with their offline counterparts. In addition to that, their customer service department does not cause hazards to buyers for exchanging or returning items that they do not like. Hence, more people tend to buy things online rather than visiting a store. However, this is not an advantageous development, as it is decreasing jobs in the market as well as impacting the businessman who cannot invest in digital spaces. Therefore, semi-skilled work like the fashion assistant, the cashier and the customer service agent is running out of career opportunities. Moreover, small businesses of garments are finding it challenging to survive in this competition. For instance, there are many university students who were working part-time as a salesman with numerous international brands lost their job. As a result, many of them are struggling to complete their studies due to financial challenges. Furthermore, the local stores of small traders are also shutting down due to the scarcity of potential shoppers. Henceforth, a large group of people are suffering. To conclude, I believe that progression in the field of science is a blessing for mankind. It is of immense importance that we all evolve with time. Thus, the internet shopping space made everything available to us easily and at a pocket-friendly price. We should also ensure that this evolution is a blessing for everyone. Hence, we should train each other to be updated and use this medium efficiently. Therefore, a fair environment will prevail for everyone.