Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that encouraging juveniles to be competitive is important because the sense of competition will motivate them to pursue their dreams. Conversely, others think that children should learn to be cooperative to become useful grown-ups because they will have to collaborate with others in real life. This essay agrees with the later statement. On the one hand, people think that competitiveness will encourage children to bravely dream big and have the perseverance to pursue them. Ingraining this value allows teenagers to be motivated to keep improving themselves. They see their friends working hard to achieve their dreams, thus they are motivated to do the same. This situation develops their characters to be persistent and challenge themselves to achieve higher and better. For example, in top schools, their students have many achievements compared to regular schools’ students. The competition within the Ivy schools motivates them to be achievers. However, an extremely competitive environment causes them to be more individualistic and it will be difficult when they have to work with others. On the other hand, teenagers who learn to cooperate with others will develop a good character when they are adults. This is because, from a young age, they already learn how to join hand in hand with their peers to attain the same goal. This cooperativeness is important, especially in professional working settings. Adults have to interact and collaborate with their coworkers to achieve the team’s goals, thus they cannot only think about themselves. For instance, to launch a product campaign in an e-commerce platform, marketing teams need to work together with IT teams. Thus, having a good collaboration skill enables individuals to carry out better tasks when they grow up. In conclusion, even though being competitive allows individuals to be high achievers, developing good cooperative skills will be more beneficial when they grow up because professional working settings always require them to work as a team.