Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience. Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time?

Recently, the percentage of students taking a gap year after finishing high school starts to increase. However, there are those who do not support the idea and believe that there shouldn’t be a break. From my point of view, everyone should follow their own paths especially when it comes to the question of education. On the one hand, taking a year off is usually for students who do not know what profession to choose so it really helps to decide. It is not useful to study on the faculty you do not want as you will not benefit from it. But some want to have this year to gain the work experience due to advantages of it in the future career. Travels can also be a great choice because many companies offer jobs for a specific period in the majority of countries. In most cases, the main conditions are to be an adult and the knowledge of English which are not that complicated to accomplish. On the other hand, people that take a gap year do not always succeed during it. The main reason for it is staying at home not doing anything. As a result, a year is fully missed and the understanding of what to do next didn’t spring up. Obviously, knowledge needs to be maintained all the time, otherwise, the level of it will go down. For instance, those who take courses or training in various spheres then acquire new skills and become more comprehensively developed. To sum up, the selection of university or college must not be affected by parents or friends. It is better to find out who you want to become even in 3 years time rather than hurry and be discontent.