Research shows that overeating is as harmful as smoking. Therefore, advertising for certain food products should be banned, in the same way as cigarette advertising is banned in many countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree

With the development of food industry, overeating is a prevalent phenomenon in most countries today. Some argue that advertisement of certain food should be banned as cigarette does, given its potential hazards. From my opinion, it cannot be a wise decision. This article will do the explanation. On one hand, the sales of the certain food product might drop dramatically after their advertisements are banned with might result in the country losing its profits. We must recognize the fact that the sale of a specific food is greatly boost through advertising. Specifically, advertisement serves as a justification of the quality of food on the account that the food must have been scientifically proofed to be eligible in advance of advertising. The forbidden of advertising will result in people changing their perception on certain dishes which will result in food producer losing their popularity. In other words, it might cause the food manufacturers losing its clientele and then facing bankrupt. Therefore, banning advertisement in food industry might be a unwise decision. On the other hand, the opponents of the above statement should claim that the advertisements of certain foods are making people more and more committed to their instant impulse for food instead of their health. More specifically, similar to the cigarettes, it instigates the ordinary people to purchase food that they do not necessarily need. However, they failed to recognize the fact that advertisement of cigarettes is banned due to its addictiveness, which does not exist on normal foods. People can break the habit of overeating with ease since they do so because they know nothing about the consequences of overeating. In this case, instead of banning advertisements, governments should launch awareness campaign about overeating and thereby minimize the amount of people suffer from over eating. Thus, the opponents have overstated the severity level of advertisement. Simply put, since the advertisements of certain food products can boost its sales, I disagree with the given statement.