Many people drive personal vehicles to school and work. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this type of transportation? Discuss both and give your own opinion.

Millions of cars take commuters to work and school daily all over the world. Over the past century, automobiles have played a critical role in the modernization of nations, as well as the transformation of infrastructure and the environment. The well-being of current and future generations is dependent on the ways in which society and individuals understand the impact of using personal vehicles for everyday driving. The disadvantages of cars are pollution and traffic; however, they benefit commuters by providing time and comfort. Arguably, much of the air pollution, especially smog in large metropolitan cities, has been created by the constant use of vehicles to move from home to the office and classroom. The ozone layer has thinned and many species of animals and plants have suffered from the soot, a byproduct, created by the burning of fossil fuels used to power cars. A recent research study has discovered that the ozone layer has been depleted by as much as 50% over the past century, and it is unable to recover as a result of carbon emissions. Although these are negatives of using cars, I believe there are solutions to such problems and the benefits of using personal vehicles are greater. With the advancement of technology, many vehicles are now electric powered rather than burning petrol. At the same time, using a car saves precious time for commuters to reach their work and school. Furthermore, commuters can feel comfortable in a climate-controlled environment without the distraction of strangers, like on a city bus. This added convenience greatly helps to improve motorists’ quality of life and therefore stay positive and productive throughout the workweek. For these very reasons, I prefer to take my own car to my place of employment. These advantages help to maintain progress and integrity in societies. In conclusion, the debate of using cars for everyday needs is an important one. It is necessary for authorities to discern the negatives of this technology, such as air pollution and traffic, in order to improve on these while maintaining the positives of efficiency and comfort. In the future, both people and nature must be taken into consideration with regard to private vehicle commute.