Some people say that failure is proof that the desire wasn't strong enough. To what extent do you agree with this statement.

Most people strive for success. It is thought by some that failure can mostly be attributed to a lack of dedication. However, I strongly disagree with this view and think that there are multiple factors affecting a person's success and failure. Firstly, there is a multitude of factors that are involved to make individuals fail to succeed, many of which are beyond their control, such as their genetic traits, the environment and access to resources. Because these aspects cannot be changed with strong desires, a person's failure does not necessarily indicate their lack of motivation. For example, many aspirational and talented athletes in developing countries lose in international competitions as they have limited access to training facilities and a nutritional diet compared to those in economically advanced countries. Some might argue that commitment and dedication can make individuals overcome those external factors. I nevertheless believe that it is not sufficient to succeed. This is because the quality of work far outweighs the quantity when it comes to achieving goals, and desires do not provide people with knowledge to work more effectively. Therefore, failure is often caused by a lack of effective approaches, which cannot be guaranteed by having dedication. In Japan, for instance, a large number of high school students do not pass entrance examinations for their desired university despite long hours of studying than those who get accepted. In conclusion, I entirely disagree with the idea that lack of dedication indicates the person's lack of passion. It is crucial that people view failure in a constructive way in order to prevent it.