IN MANY PARTS OF THE WORLD, ILLITERACY RATES ARE STILL HIGH. WHAT DO YOU THINK ARE THE CAUSES OF THIS? WHAT SOLUTIONS CAN YOU SUGGEST?

Although it is generally accepted that modern society is considered to be highly developed, there are still many people in the world who can not read nor write. In this essay I am going to discuss the causes for illiteracy as well as give some suggestions about it. As far as I am concerned, the major cause for illiteracy is poverty. In many areas in the world, people even unable to afford daily food, no mention going to school. Even in some areas in war, all they can do is trying to survive. When making a live becomes the primary thing to do, then the individual is unlikely to spend money or time on other things, such as getting educated. As for those who live in poor areas or even war areas, Reading or writing is secondly priority comparing to livelihood. Furthermore, when a neighborhood lacks books and other teaching items, and parents are not aware of the significant of education, then the next generation is less likely to acquire the skill of read and book. In order to break the cycle of poverty, there must be something emergency that the government should do. Speaking of the ways to improve this phenomenon, I believe the government should take the major responsibility. From the perspective of government, the government should donor funding for literacy. If the people are supported by the local government from the economic perspective, then they could go to school without stress. Secondly, the adult education system should be taking into consider since many adults should have the equal right to literacy. By doing this, I believe the situation could be better in the future. To conclude, although it seems that we have been in a highly civilized society nowadays, still there are many people who cannot read and write in the world. I believe that there are different causes for illiteracy in different areas, still the major cause is poverty in most situations, and the government should do something to solve this problem, such as funding and supporting adult schools.