Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the ‏past. Describe some of the advantages and disadvantages of television ‏for children.

In recent times, it has been observed that children are spending more time watching television compared to the past. This trend has its own merits and demerits, which I will explain further in the essay with some relevant examples. There are several benefits of watching television for youngsters. First and foremost, teenagers get more general knowledge, which helps them for educational purposes. For instance, by seeing shows related to Discovery and National Geographic, they will be able to learn new things and add that information to their assignments. Besides this, television is also playing a major role in kid's personal growth as well. To exemplify, with the help of watching motivational shows, youth are gaining positive advice, which can guide them on how to connect with the community. However, we cannot ignore the drawbacks of this impact. The essential disadvantage of this trend is that more use of television makes children homebodies and introverts, which stop them from socialising. Additionally, the blue rays from the TV increase the chances of lower eyesight. As well as teenagers are also suffering from fatigue due to more use of television in their daily lives. To provide an example, a survey by the University of Waterloo mentions that about 75% of children are getting poor grades in exams because of spending more time towards TV. To conclude, the wise use of television always helps youngsters to do better in the future. However, it is also important for them to have good control over how long they have to watch television for entertainment.