Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective.

Modern society is facing the grave problem of increasing pollution and traffic. A few people argue that increasing fuel prices is the best solution to tackle the situation. In my opinion, this is not the right solution. In the upcoming paragraphs, I will discuss the reasons for the same along with other measures that can be effective in handling the situation. Increasing the petrol price may discourage a certain segment of society from using private vehicles but it can cause other problems, such as inflation, since most of the goods are transported via road. Moreover, it's important to figure out how much pollution is being added by vehicles as a percentage of the total. If automobiles, for instance, just add little to the overall pollution then the strategy will be ineffective in this case. The policy can also turn public sentiment negative. To tackle the situation, I believe, less punishable measures can be taken. For example, the use of public transport can be incentivized. If the government makes public transport cheaper and more convenient, people will invariably start using that. Another way could be to motivate people to start car-pooling, which will help to reduce the number of vehicles on road. Awareness campaigns, showing the impact of traffic and pollution, can also be helpful to educate people about the issue. To conclude, increasing fuel prices is not the best solution to solve the problem of soaring traffic and pollution. As discussed above, the problem can be handled by using more innovative and people -friendly strategies.