Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Arts reflect the heritage of a country and the creativity of an individual. While many people believe that financing in arts is a wastage of money, I am of the opposite view as I believe that financing in arts is a quite good idea for the government. a lot of people think that spending money on arts effects the well-being of citizens and the development of the nation. For example, available financial resources, according to them, could be put to use in building more hospitals, roads, schools and developing other infrastructures. This means increasing care of the sick and improve the transportation sector. In addition, it can be used for the development of better education facilities for children. These people believe that art is a luxury and governments should focus on essential sectors. From another view, investments in such areas are worthful, spending on arts is equally important. Making a budget for the development and supporting of arts helps the economy, and arts are important to decrease crime from society and engage people. Art galleries can attract tourists from all over the world, generating revenue in return while artists can create the identity of a nation through their works. Moreover, the case that viewing and practising arts, such as painting, music, acting, dancing and so on, are good sources of release stress while educating people at the same time. Such activities also portray a positive picture of a nation to the world. If governments fail to support the arts, many art galleries and theatres would not be able to survive. Arts is as important as science for the true progress of a nation. In conclusion, it is clear to me that spending on arts is beneficial both for an individual and society. Therefore funding arts by the government is not wasting money.