As earth runs out of natural resources, we have started to look to space for solutions. However, some people argue that this is the wrong thing to do, and instead we should look for alternative solutions here on earth. To what extent do you agree with them? What alternatives might there be to exploiting space for natural resources

In the last century, billions of dollars have been spent on space research. While some people argue that it is the need of the hour due to the consumption of earth's resources, others believe that this money is squandered and should be spent on finding alternative power sources on earth. This essay will discuss, why I agree with the latter and in my view,finding resources on the globe is more practical. Those who advocate space search point out not only the extent of damage done due to the extraction of natural fuels but also the consequences of global warming on the whole planet. Indeed, many believe that it is essential to find another planet nearby so that our species could mine its reserves and if needed may colonize or migrate there as well. In America, for instance, research on Mars has been started for this reason and they claim promising results. Hence, the future of mankind depends on such a discovery. Others, however, myself included, do not support this ongoing search of resources in space. Indeed, in the last few decades, millions of dollars were wasted on sending rovers, astronauts and rockets into the galaxy and the results have been negligible. If the same money has been spent instead on mining the alternative resources on the earth our lives would be much better. An important point to consider is that nuclear technology is a better alternative to satisfy the world's rocketing demand for power. As it is a sustainable source of energy and further research is needed in this sector. Hence, if alternatives such as nuclear energy could become more feasible on the planet the need for space exploration for the same reason would be unnecessary. To conclude, humanity's thirst for knowledge and expedition is unquenchable. It is time, however, for governments to take responsibility for the real duties on earth for the improvement of mankind instead of exploring space for the inevitable future.