Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is a growing recognition of the importance of music in our lives. Some even argue that music is a powerful medium to unite people belonging to diverse cultures and age groups. While this might be considered as an exaggeration, I completely agree with this point of view. There are numerous ways with which people from different nationalities and age groups can be brought together. Art, for example, is universal and takes many forms, ranging from performative arts to decorative arts. When people visit art galleries, they may forget their identities for once and immerse themselves in the deep meaning of artworks. This is but one of many media that facilitates connection to other cultures. Literature is another domain, where it is possible to relate to characters in books in meaningful ways. Using imagination and empathy people feel as if they were part of what is being narrated in books and engage in them deeply and emotionally. This attachment can be so strong that they go through a rollercoaster of feelings and emotions, losing themselves to such a spiritually rewarding experience. Thus, it is no wonder that art and literature can affect us powerfully and stimulate our empathy towards others. Nevertheless, I believe that music appeals to our sense of belonging and togetherness in even more profound ways. While art and literature can be inaccessible to some due to distance and language barriers, because an art gallery could be in a distant location, or a piece of literature in another language, music can be enjoyed everywhere with considerably less effort. Songs, irrespective of the language they are composed in, can be instantly uplifting for those who might be suffering from anxiety, depression or simply bad mood, encouraging their appreciation of the creators of such art. In addition, music festivals are often attended by representatives of various cultures and ages fostering an atmosphere of togetherness and allowing people to form strong bonds with others. Therefore, it is fascinating that when heads of different states meet for summits to discuss serious matters, their agendas usually include attending concerts at which musical representations of different cultures are performed, possibly paving the way for a smoother dialogue among states. Thus, given its ubiquity, music impacts us profoundly and can serve as a bridge between different cultures and ages. In conclusion, while there are other art forms that help us relate to others, it is my view that music can play an even more important role to stimulate our appreciation of other cultures and peoples.