Popular events like the football World Cup and other international occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotion In a safe way. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In the 21st century, while many countries are battling with one another over several issues like border tensions, terrorism etc., International Sports competitions like IPL, Commonwealth, Olympics have eased the tension to a greater extent between these countries. I completely agree with the notion and favour these international events for peace and harmony amongst all populations worldwide. The principal reason of holding sports worldwide is to ease the stress amongst nations. Amongst many activities, Sport plays a key role in putting aside all tensions and all the participants play like a true warrior and at the same time cheer up for their competitors. For example, in Common Wealth Games games like boxing, swimming, etc. Are held in which one or the other nation win the match while the other players learn from each other's strategies and cope with the stressful situation. Consequently, this eases the stress between nations and they come forward to help each other. The other major benefit from such events are patriotic emotions which are released in a safe way.At times, we come across instances, where games can contribute to ending the conflicts between nations. In 2008, Turkey and Armenia teams were set to play a world cup and the Turkish president accepted. Armenia loosened visa restrictions so that Turkish fans could join the game. The match opened new diplomatic channels between the countries. Thus, these events remove the feeling of nationalism in the moment and improve the relation between them. To conclude, these worldwide sporting events has been held every year to end the rivalry hovering on many countries and develop global unity. I am convinced with the given statement and believe these competitions should be given high priority. Though international sporting events can be one of the good ways to ease tensions, I believe that sports alone cannot promote peaceful international relationships.