in some countries, young people have become richer, healthier, and live longer, but they are less happy. what are the causes? what can be done to address this situation?

It is true that, particularly in developed countries, the youth of today enjoy longer lives and better health, but are not necessarily happier, despite all the material possessions that they have. I would argue that there is one principal reason why they are not happier, and some steps should be taken to deal with this situation. The influence of commercial advertising is at the root of the dissatisfaction of today’s youngsters. Young people have become a target audience for the marketing industry, even children of 5 years old or younger. They are swayed by advertisements to adopt the values of the consumer society, possessing more and more things which, they are told, will bring them happiness, such as toys, electronic goods, a McDonald’s burger or the latest fashions. TV channels and online advertising persuade young people to buy goods impulsively. However, all this personal consumption has failed to bring happiness, and the false promises have resulted in disillusionment among young people. Governments could immediately address this problem. They must introduce restrictions on advertising, and it would be even more effective to impose an official ban on all marketing. National and local authorities should allocate resources to schools to provide opportunities for young people to participate actively in sports or to take up a musical instrument. This will bring much more happiness and social interaction into the lives of today’s youth, rather than being passive individual consumers of everything, from violent video games to junk food. These two measures would certainly help efforts to bring more fulfilment and happiness into the lives of today’s youth. In conclusion, by taking steps to curb the activities of the marketing industry, governments could help young people to develop into happier citizens of the future.